<u>R E V I S E D</u>

ITEM NO.1501 (For Judgment) COURT NO.1

SECTION X

SUPREME COURT OF INDIA RECORD OF PROCEEDINGS

Writ Petition (Criminal) No.76/2016

NAVTEJ SINGH JOHAR

Petitioner(s)

Respondent(s)

VERSUS

UNION OF INDIA MINISTRY OF LAW AND JUSTICE SECRETARY

WITH W.P.(C) No.572/2016 (X) W.P.(Crl.) No.88/2018 (PIL-W) W.P.(Crl.) No.100/2018 (X) W.P.(Crl.) No.101/2018 (X) W.P.(Crl.) No.121/2018 (X)

Date : 06-09-2018 These petitions were called on for pronoucnement of Judgment today.

For Petitioner(s)

Mr. E. C. Agrawala, AOR Ms. Jayna Kothari, Adv. Mr. Rohit Sharma, Adv. Mr. Rounak Nayak, Adv. Mr. Atul Agarwal, Adv. Mr. Anshul Chowdhary, Adv. Ms. Disha Chaudhari, Adv. Mr. O. P. Bhadani, AOR Mrs. Shally Bhasin, AOR Mr. Anand Grover, Sr. Adv. Mr. Sunil Fernandes, AOR Ms. Astha Sharma, Adv. Ms. Nupur Kumar, Adv. Ms. Anju Thomas, Adv. Ms. Priyansha Indra Sharma, Adv. Mr. Arnav Vidyarthi, Adv. Ms. Tripti Tandon, Adv. Mr. Suraj Sanap, Adv. Ms. Priyam Lizmary Cherian, Adv.

Ms. Pritha Srikumar, AOR

For	Respondent(s)	Mr. Tushar Mehta, ASG Ms. Ranjana Narayan, Adv. Mr. Rajat Nair, Adv. Mr. B.V. Balram Das, Adv. Ms. Swati Ghildiyal, Adv. Ms. Kanu Aggarwal, Adv. Mr. A.K. Sharma, Adv.
		Mr. Shyam Divan, Sr. Adv. Mr. Pukhrambam Ramesh Kumar, AOR Mr. Gautam Bhatia, Adv. Mr. Jawahar Raza, Adv. Mr. Arvind Narain, Adv. Mr. Yasuman Khandelwal, Adv. Mr. Govind Manoharan, Adv. Mr. Siddharth Narrain, Adv. Mr. Chinmay Kanojia, Adv.
		Mr. Ashok Desai, Sr. Adv. Mr. Nikhil Nayyar, AOR Ms. Anu Bindra, Adv. Mr. Siddharth Narrain, Adv. Mr. Gowthaman Ranganathan, Adv. Mr. Jawahar Raja, Adv. Mr. Chinmay Kanojia, Adv. Mr. Sai Vinod, Adv.
		Mr. Krishnan Venugopal, Sr. Adv. Ms. Amritananda Chakravorty, Adv. Mr. Mihir Samson, Adv. Ms. Shreya Munoth, Adv. Ms. Deepanshi Ishar, Adv. Mr. Sivendra Singh, Adv. Ms. Liz Mathew, AOR
		Mr. Chander Uday Singh, Adv. Mr. Gautam Narayan, AOR Mr. Jawahar Raja, Adv. Mr. Chinmay Kanojia, Adv. Mr. Gautam Bhatia, Adv. Mr. Amjid Maqbool, Adv. Ms. Ila Sheel, Adv.
		Mr. Praveen Agrawal, AOR Dr. Harshvir Pratap Sharma, Adv. Ms. Parul Joshi, Adv. Brig. A.K. Shrivastava, Adv. Mr. Pankaj Kumar, AOR
		Mr. K. Radhakrishnan, Sr. Adv. Mr. K.V. Jagdishvaran, Adv.

3

Ms. G. Indira, AOR Mr. Ajay Bansal, Adv. Mr. Gauravy Yadav, Adv. Mrs. Veena Bansal, Adv. Mr. Dhiraj A. Philip, Adv. Mr. Febin Mathew, Adv. Ms. Palak Misra, Adv. Mr. Manoj V. George, Adv. Ms. Shilpa Liza George, Adv. Mr. Rajeev Kumar Dubey, Adv. Mr. B.D. Dass, Adv. Mr. Aakarsh Kamra, Adv. Mr. Amit Kumar, Adv. Ms. Dazy, Adv. Mr. Mahesh Jethmalani, Sr. Adv. Mr. Pallav Mongia, Adv. Mr. Ravi Sharma, Adv. Mugda Pande, Adv. Sabyasachi Bhaduri, Adv.

Hon'ble the Chief Justice (on behalf of himself, and Hon'ble Mr. Justice A.M. Khanwilkar), Hon'ble Mr. Justice Rohinton Fali Nariman, Hon'ble Dr. Justice D.Y. Chandrachud and Hon'ble Mrs. Justice Indu Malhotra pronounced four separate but concurring judgments of the Bench comprising Hon'ble the Chief Justice, Hon'ble Mr. Justice Rohinton Fali Nariman, Hon'ble Mr. Justice A.M. Khanwilkar, Hon'ble Dr. Justice D.Y. Chandrachud and Hon'ble Mrs. Justice Indu Malhotra.

The writ petitions are disposed of in terms of the four signed reportable judgments.

The interlocutory applications, if any, stand disposed of.

(Chetan Kumar)(H.S. Parasher)A.R.-cum-P.S.Assistant Registrar(Four signed reportable judgments are placed on the file)

COURT NO.1

SECTION X

ITEM NO.1501 (For Judgment)

> SUPREME COURT OF INDIA RECORD OF PROCEEDINGS

Writ Petition (Criminal) No.76/2016

NAVTEJ SINGH JOHAR

Petitioner(s)

VERSUS

UNION OF INDIA MINISTRY OF LAW AND JUSTICE SECRETARY

Respondent(s)

WITH W.P.(C) No.572/2016 (X) W.P.(Crl.) No.88/2018 (PIL-W) W.P.(Crl.) No.100/2018 (X) W.P.(Crl.) No.101/2018 (X) W.P.(Crl.) No.121/2018 (X)

Date : 06-09-2018 These petitions were called on for pronoucnement of Judgment today.

For Petitioner(s)

Mr. E. C. Agrawala, AOR Ms. Jayna Kothari, Adv. Mr. Rohit Sharma, Adv. Mr. Rounak Nayak, Adv. Mr. Atul Agarwal, Adv. Mr. Anshul Chowdhary, Adv. Ms. Disha Chaudhari, Adv. Mr. O. P. Bhadani, AOR Mrs. Shally Bhasin, AOR Mr. Anand Grover, Sr. Adv. Mr. Sunil Fernandes, AOR Ms. Astha Sharma, Adv. Ms. Nupur Kumar, Adv. Ms. Anju Thomas, Adv. Ms. Priyansha Indra Sharma, Adv. Mr. Arnav Vidyarthi, Adv. Ms. Tripti Tandon, Adv. Mr. Suraj Sanap, Adv. Ms. Priyam Lizmary Cherian, Adv. Ms. Pritha Srikumar, AOR

For	Respondent(s)	Mr. Tushar Mehta, ASG Ms. Ranjana Narayan, Adv. Mr. Rajat Nair, Adv. Mr. B.V. Balram Das, Adv. Ms. Swati Ghildiyal, Adv. Ms. Kanu Aggarwal, Adv. Mr. A.K. Sharma, Adv.
		Mr. Shyam Divan, Sr. Adv. Mr. Pukhrambam Ramesh Kumar, AOR Mr. Gautam Bhatia, Adv. Mr. Jawahar Raza, Adv. Mr. Arvind Narain, Adv. Mr. Yasuman Khandelwal, Adv. Mr. Govind Manoharan, Adv. Mr. Siddharth Narrain, Adv. Mr. Chinmay Kanojia, Adv.
		Mr. Ashok Desai, Sr. Adv. Mr. Nikhil Nayyar, AOR Ms. Anu Bindra, Adv. Mr. Siddharth Narrain, Adv. Mr. Gowthaman Ranganathan, Adv. Mr. Jawahar Raja, Adv. Mr. Chinmay Kanojia, Adv. Mr. Sai Vinod, Adv.
		Mr. Krishnan Venugopal, Sr. Adv. Ms. Amritananda Chakravorty, Adv. Mr. Mihir Samson, Adv. Ms. Shreya Munoth, Adv. Ms. Deepanshi Ishar, Adv. Mr. Sivendra Singh, Adv. Ms. Liz Mathew, AOR
		Mr. Chander Uday Singh, Adv. Mr. Gautam Narayan, AOR Mr. Jawahar Raja, Adv. Mr. Chinmay Kanojia, Adv. Mr. Gautam Bhatia, Adv. Mr. Amjid Maqbool, Adv. Ms. Ila Sheel, Adv.
		Mr. Praveen Agrawal, AOR Dr. Harshvir Pratap Sharma, Adv. Ms. Parul Joshi, Adv. Brig. A.K. Shrivastava, Adv. Mr. Pankaj Kumar, AOR
		Mr. K. Radhakrishnan, Sr. Adv. Mr. K.V. Jagdishvaran, Adv.

Ms. G. Indira, AOR Mr. Ajay Bansal, Adv. Mr. Gauravy Yadav, Adv. Mrs. Veena Bansal, Adv. Mr. Dhiraj A. Philip, Adv. Mr. Febin Mathew, Adv. Ms. Palak Misra, Adv. Mr. Manoj V. George, Adv. Ms. Shilpa Liza George, Adv. Mr. Rajeev Kumar Dubey, Adv. Mr. B.D. Dass, Adv. Mr. Aakarsh Kamra, Adv. Mr. Amit Kumar, Adv. Ms. Dazy, Adv. Mr. Mahesh Jethmalani, Sr. Adv. Mr. Pallav Mongia, Adv. Mr. Ravi Sharma, Adv. Mugda Pande, Adv. Sabyasachi Bhaduri, Adv.

Hon'ble the Chief Justice (on behalf of himself, and Hon'ble Mr. Justice A.M. Khanwilkar), Hon'ble Mr. Justice Rohinton Fali Nariman, Hon'ble Dr. Justice D.Y. Chandrachud and Hon'ble Mrs. Justice Indu Malhotra pronounced four separate but concurring judgments of the Bench comprising Hon'ble the Chief Justice, Hon'ble Mr. Justice Rohinton Fali Nariman, Hon'ble Mr. Justice A.M. Khanwilkar, Hon'ble Dr. Justice D.Y. Chandrachud and Hon'ble Mrs. Justice Indu Malhotra.

The writ petitions are disposed of in terms of the four signed reportable judgments.

(Chetan Kumar) A.R.-cum-P.S. (Four signed reportable judgments are placed on the file)