# SUPREME COURT OF INDIA RECORD OF PROCEEDINGS

Writ Petition(s)(Civil) No(s). 1496/2018

**GAURAV KUMAR BANSAL** 

Petitioner(s)

### **VERSUS**

UNION OF INDIA & ORS.

Respondent(s)

IA No. 136698/2021 - EXEMPTION FROM FILING AFFIDAVIT

IA No. 32370/2020 - EXEMPTION FROM FILING O.T.

IA No. 44984/2019 - EXEMPTION FROM FILING O.T.

IA No. 180630/2018 - PERMISSION TO APPEAR AND ARGUE IN PERSON

#### WITH

W.P.(C) No. 976/2019 (PIL-W)

IA No. 99854/2019 - EX-PARTE STAY

IA No. 99861/2019 - PERMISSION TO APPEAR AND ARGUE IN PERSON

## W.P.(C) No. 1145/2021 (PIL-W)

IA No. 135115/2021 - APPROPRIATE ORDERS/DIRECTIONS

IA No. 135117/2021 - EXEMPTION FROM FILING AFFIDAVIT

IA No. 135114/2021 - PERMISSION TO APPEAR AND ARGUE IN PERSON

Date: 07-02-2025 These matters were called on for hearing today.

CORAM : HON'BLE MR. JUSTICE PAMIDIGHANTAM SRI NARASIMHA

HON'BLE MR. JUSTICE PRASHANT KUMAR MISHRA

For Petitioner(s): Petitioner-in-person

For Respondent(s): Mr. Amrish Kumar, AOR

Mr. K.M. Nataraj, A.S.G.

Mrs. Aishwarya Bhati, A.S.G.

Mr. Abhishek Atrey, Adv.

Mr. Vanshaja Shukla, Adv.

Mr. Anuj Srinivas Udupa, Adv.

Mr. Sudarshan Lamba, aor, Adv.

Mr. Guntur Pramod Kumar, AOR

Ms. Prerna Singh, Adv.

Mr. Samarth Krishan Luthra, Adv.

Ms. Aishwarya Bhati, A.S.G.

Ms. Vanshaja Shukla, Adv.

Mr. Abhishek Atrey, Adv.

Ms. Rajeshwari Shankar, Adv.

- Ms. Adya Jha, Adv.
- Dr. N. Visakamurthy, AOR
- Mr. Abhimanyu Tewari, AOR
- Ms. Eliza Bar, Adv.
- Mr. Shuvodeep Roy, AOR
- Mr. Sunny Choudhary, AOR
- Mr. Manish Kumar, AOR
- Mr. Divyansh Mishra, Adv.
- Ms. Aswathi M.k., AOR
- Mr. Ruchira Gupta, Adv.
- Mr. Shishir Deshpande, AOR
- Ms. Pooja Tripathi, Adv.
- Mr. Amit Kumar, Adv.
- Mr. Abhishek Verma, Adv.
- Ms. Swati Ghildiyal, AOR
- Mr. Shekhar Raj Sharma, D.A.G.
- Mr. Samar Vijay Singh, AOR
- Ms. Nidhi Narwal, Adv.
- Ms. Sabarni Som, Adv.
- Mr. Anurag Kulharia, Adv.
- Mr. Saurabh Sachdeva, Adv.
- Dr. Ratipal Singh Tanwar, Adv.
- Mr. Sameer Mehndiratta, Adv.
- Mr. Gyanesh Kumar Maheshwari, Adv.
- Mr. Ankit Kumar Lal, AOR
- Mr. Jayant Mohan, AOR
- Ms. Adya Shree Dutta, Adv.
- Ms. Meenakshi Chatterjee, Adv.
- Mr. G.m.kawoosa, Adv.
- Mr. Pashupathi Nath Razdan, AOR
- Mr. V. N. Raghupathy, AOR
- Ms. Mythili S, Adv.
- Mr. M. Bangaraswamy, Adv.
- Mr. Venkata Raghu Mannepalli, Adv.
- Mr. Shiv Kumar, Adv.
- Ms. Vaishnavi, Adv.
- Mr. Nishe Rajen Shonker, AOR
- Mrs. Anu K Joy, Adv.
- Mr. Alim Anvar, Adv.

- Mr. Santhosh K, Adv.
- Mr. Sarad Kumar Singhania, AOR
- Ms. Rashmi Singhania, Adv.
- Mr. Shrirang B. Varma, Adv.
- Mr. Siddharth Dharmadhikari, Adv.
- Mr. Aaditya Aniruddha Pande, AOR
- Mr. Lenin Singh Hijam, Adv. Gen, Sr. Adv.
- Mr. Pukhrambam Ramesh Kumar, AOR
- Mr. Karun Sharma, Adv.
- Ms. Anupama Ngangom, Adv.
- Ms. Rajkumari Divyasana, Adv.
- Mr. Ranjan Mukherjee, AOR
- Mr. Anando Mukherjee, AOR
- Mr. Shwetank Singh, Adv.
- Ms. K. Enatoli Sema, AOR
- Ms. Limayinla Jamir, Adv.
- Mr. Amit Kumar Singh, Adv.
- Ms. Chubalemla Chang, Adv.
- Mr. Prang Newmai, Adv.
- Ms. Aishwarya Bhati, A.S.G.
- Mr. Tushar Sannu, Adv.
- Ms. Vanshaja Shukla, Adv.
- Mr. Abhishek Atrey, Adv.
- Ms. Shivika Mehra, Adv.
- Ms. Poornima Singh, Adv.
- Mr. Harsh Yadav, Adv.
- Mr. Sahil Tagotra, AOR
- Mr. Aravindh S., AOR
- Mr. Akshay Gupta, Adv.
- Mr. Aadithya Aravindh, Adv.
- Ms. Baani Khanna, AOR
- Mr. Robin Singh, Adv.
- Mr. Rohit Kumar, Adv.
- Mr. Sandeep Kumar Jha, AOR
- Mr. Shiv Mangal Sharma, A.A.G.
- Ms. Nidhi Jaswal, Adv.
- Mr. Saurabh Rajpal, Adv.
- Mr. Sameer Abhyankar, AOR
- Mr. Rahul Kumar, Adv.
- Mr. Aryan Srivastava, Adv.

- Mr. Krishna Rustogi, Adv.
- Mr. Aakash Thakur, Adv.
- Mr. Sabarish Subramanian, AOR
- Mr. Sarvesh Singh Baghel, AOR
- Mr. Rajeev Kumar Dubey, Adv.
- Mr. Kamlendra Mishra, AOR
- Ms. Astha Sharma, AOR
- Mr. Rajiv Kumar Choudhry , AOR
- Ms. G. Indira, AOR
- Mr. Raj Bahadur Yadav, AOR
- Mr. Varun Chugh, Adv.
- Mr. Mukesh Kumar Verma, Adv.
- Mr. Shreekant Neelappa Terdal, AOR
- Ms. Ankita Sharma, AOR
- Mr. Arjun D. Singh, Adv.
- Mr. J. Prasad, Adv.
- Ms. Suveni Bhagat, AOR
- Mr. Kunal Mimani, AOR
- Mr. Prashant Aai, Adv.
- Mr. Avijit Mani Tripathi, AOR
- Mr. T.K. Nayak, Adv.

# UPON hearing the counsel the Court made the following O R D E R

- 1. The present Writ Petition(s) under Article 32 of the Constitution was filed on 08.12.2018, seeking certain directions with respect to the persons requiring mental healthcare.
- 2. Commencing from 03.01.2019, this Court has been passing orders from time to time in proceedings which were in the nature of continuing Mandamus. In the year 2017, Parliament enacted the Mental Healthcare Act, 2017. The 2017 legislation interalia contemplates establishment of Central Mental Health Authority (CMHA)(Sections 33-44), State Mental Health Authority (SMHA)

(Sections 45-56), Mental Health Review Board (MHRB)(Sections 73-85).

- 3. Ms. Aishwarya Bhati, learned Additional Solicitor General appears on behalf of the Union. We direct that Union of India shall file a detailed affidavit indicating the establishment and functioning of the Central Mental Health Authority, State Mental Health Authority and Mental Health Review Board. The affidavit shall also indicate the statutory and mandatory appointments to the authority and the review board. The said affidavit may be filed by 06.03.2025.
- 4. List on 21.03.2025.

(KAPIL TANDON)
COURT MASTER (SH)

(NIDHI WASON)
COURT MASTER (NSH)